It’s my Birthday and Today I Clean the Chicken Coop

It’s my birthday and this morning I clean the chicken coop.   I carry heaps of leaves and pine needles and pile them where the chickens slept last night, so they can have a clean place to sleep again tonight.  I scrub down their galvanized waterer with dish soap and fill it with fresh water.  I squat and pick up trash that has somehow accumulated in their run so it won’t choke them to death.  I carry out their nesting boxes to hose them down, then fill them with fresh bedding.

And while I rinse, soap, and scrub I thank God for 25 years of life.  I’m reminded every day in the ER that health and mobility and life and breath is not something to be taken for granted.

I clean chicken poop today of all days because I truly do love where I am today, Saturday, July 7, 2012.  It’s not the trips I’ve taken, or sites I’ve seen, or mountain-top experiences, but the little everyday things, that truly have brought me the most joy.  I am thankful for our chickens, our farm, and our apiary.  I am thankful that we have the opportunity to do the type of ministry we love and feel called to in Southeast SD.  I am thankful that I have 3 years of nursing behind me.  I am thankful I live in sunny San Diego, California of all places.  I am thankful for 2 years of marriage and 6 years of friendship with my partner Chris.  I am thankful for my family, the Nafis family, and the many friends and experiences who have shaped the person I am today.

I’m not really sure if I’m “in my prime” as my brother Ryan texted this morning.  It’s a scary thought and this is the first birthday I have mixed feelings about.  But today I am thankful, and so I clean.

2 comments

  1. happy birthday my friend! I’m so thrilled you are alive and well this day (even thought it isn’t your birthday)! Every birthday is a blessing because it is better than the alternative 🙂 lvya–Mon


Leave a Reply

